Fiction

Light Music (Nanotech, Book 4)

By Kathleen Ann Goonan

Nanotech Quartet [4]

Nominated - Nebula 2003, Nominated - Locus SciFi 2003

Once the area labored otherwise -- ahead of "the Silence" from area quieted the airwaves.

Once there has been a haven known as Crescent urban, outfitted during the wonders of nanotechnology to move its enlightened population into the cosmos. yet humanity has failed the city.

Dania Cooper, an excellent scientist and resilient survivor, and Jason Peabody, a recipient of the DNA-altering virus affecting a impressive few who have been born on the Silence's onset, needs to now flee the sentient city -- embarking on a strange odyssey throughout a deadly, unrecognizable panorama of tragically "youngening" kids, of plague-ravaged people in foreboding "flower cities," of wide awake machines and speaking animals. For an international that's not because it was once is close to yet one more stunning transformation -- both by means of grand layout or random cosmic coincidence.

Show description

Cauldron (Academy, Book 6)

By Jack McDevitt

The 12 months is 2255. The academy that expert the starfarers is gone and veteran big name pilot Priscilla "Hutch" Hutchins spends her retirement helping fund-raising efforts for The Prometheus starting place, a privately funded association dedicated to deep house exploration.
But whilst a tender physicist unveils a good famous person force in a position to attaining the center of the galaxy, Hutch reveals herself again within the inner most reaches of area, and at the verge of gaining knowledge of the origins of the lethal Omega clouds that proceed to hang-out her.

Show description

The Faded Sun Trilogy: Kesrith, Shon'jir, and Kutath

By C. J. Cherryh

They have been the mri-tall, secretive, certain by way of honor and the inflexible dictates in their society. For aeons this golden-skinned, golden-eyed race had supplied the universe mercenary squaddies of just about incredible ability.But now the mri have confronted an enemy not like any other-an enemy whose basically approach of battle is frequent destruction. those "humans" are mass opponents, creatures of the herb, and the mri were slaughtered like animals.Now, within the aftermath of warfare, the mri face extinction. it will likely be as much as 3 members to save lots of no matter what is still of this devastated race: a warrior--one of the final survivors of his style; a priestess of this honorable humans; and a lone human--a guy sworn to help the enemy of his personal sort. Can they retrace the galaxy-wide course of this nomadic race again via millennia to reclaim the traditional global that first gave them existence?

Show description

Anywhere But Here

By Jerry Oltion

In a global ruled via America's heavy hand, an self sufficient scientist unearths the key of speedy, affordable interstellar trip, sparking an exodus like none in heritage. whilst an individual with a couple of hundred money and a bit ingenuity can construct their very own spaceship, even americans can't wait to get out from lower than the United States's domineering thumb.

Trent and Donna Stinson, of Rock Springs, Wyoming, seal up their pickup for vacuum and go searching for a greater lifestyles one of the stars, yet they quickly examine that you simply can't outrun your difficulties. America's belligerent overseas coverage is increasing simply as quick because the world's refugees, threatening to wreck humanity's final likelihood for peaceable coexistence. while their very own govt attempts to kill them for workout the freedoms that individuals as soon as took without any consideration, Trent and Donna reluctantly admit that the US needs to be stopped. yet how can patriotic voters struggle their very own kingdom? and the way can they be successful the place the remainder of the realm has failed?

---
Uploader liberate Notes:
Improved EPUB, additional bookmarks
---

Show description

The Summer Without Men: A Novel

By Siri Hustvedt

"And who between us might deny Jane Austen her chuffed endings or insist that Cary provide and Irene Dunne may still come again jointly on the finish of the bleak Truth? There are tragedies and there are comedies, will not be there? and they're frequently extra an analogous than various, a bit like women and men, in the event you inquire from me. A comedy relies on preventing the tale at precisely the correct moment."

Mia Fredrickson, the wry, vituperative, tragic comedian, poet narrator of The summer time with out Men, has been pressured to reexamine her personal lifestyles. at some point, all of the sudden, after thirty years of marriage, Mia's husband, a popular neuroscientist, asks her for a "pause." This abrupt request sends her reeling and lands her in a psychiatric ward. The June following Mia's liberate from the clinic, she returns to the prairie city of her early life, the place her mom lives in an previous people's domestic. by myself in a rented apartment, she rages and fumes and bemoans her sorry destiny. Slowly, even though, she is drawn into the lives of these round her―her mom and her shut friends,"the 5 Swans," and her younger neighbor with young children and a noisy offended husband―and the adolescent women in her poetry workshop whose scheming and petty cruelty hold a hazard all their very own.

From the the world over bestselling writer of What I enjoyed comes a provocative, witty, and revelatory novel approximately girls and women, love and marriage, and the age-old query of sameness and distinction among the sexes.

Show description

Dogs

By Nancy Kress

In this unique bio-thriller from the writer of Beggars in Spain, the specter of terrorism and organic battle is all too genuine whilst the chance comes from a family’s so much loved pets.

Tessa Sanderson, ex-FBI agent, has moved to a sleepy Maryland city to flee her tragic earlier. whilst the town’s loved canine start viciously attacking puppy vendors and their little ones, federal CDC brokers ensure that the canine are wearing a mutated flu affecting the aggression middle in their brains, for which there's no identified remedy. Tessa bargains her unofficial information to Animal keep an eye on Officer Jess Langstrom, who has been ordered to around up the entire canines and quarantine them. in the meantime, a few of the locals, unconvinced of the chance, are getting ready to guard their pets in any way helpful. yet Tessa, the widow of an Arab who roused the suspicions of her FBI colleagues, has one other mystery: an individual is sending her threatening e-mails in Arabic that declare accountability for the virus, and she or he resolves to head deep undercover to reveal a perilous conspiracy.

Show description

The Believers: A Novel

By Zoe Heller

“[Zoe Heller] is an awfully exciting author, and this novel showcases her copious presents, together with a scathing, Waugh-like wit.”—New York Times

Best-selling writer Zoe Heller has up the severe and advertisement good fortune of What was once She pondering? Notes on a Scandal with one other tour-de-force at the which means of religion, trust, and belief: The Believers. Tragic and comedian, witty and severe, The Believers is the tale of a dysfunctional kinfolk pressured by way of tragedy to confront their very own own demons. within the vein of Claire Messud and Zadie Smith, Zoe Heller has written that infrequent novel that tackles the large rules with out sacrificing page-turning clarity.

Show description

The Almost Archer Sisters: A Novel

By Lisa Gabriele

Georgia "Peachy" Archer constantly concept she used to be proud of her offerings in lifestyles: quitting collage, marrying younger, elevating boys within the comparable small city the place she grew up. yet simply as Peachy's existence is starting to settle right into a cautious regimen, her sister's lifestyles starts to dangerously get to the bottom of.

Beth Archer selected a unique lifestyles: fancy house in new york, fancy associates, making lots of cash. She's been on her personal due to the fact she used to be undefined, and she's nonetheless on her personal, outgrowing costume types and boyfriends quicker than Peachy can inherit them. yet on a trip domestic one weekend, Beth upends every little thing Peachy suggestion she knew approximately being satisfied.

within the culture of Jennifer Weiner and Melissa financial institution, The nearly Archer Sisters is a refreshingly sincere portrait of sisterhood, motherhood, and feminine mayhem in its many states of complaint, grace, and forgiveness.

Show description

Chimera (The Korsak Brothers)

By Rob Thurman

View our function on Rob Thurman’s Chimera.New from the nationwide bestselling writer of Roadkill

A sci-fi mystery that asks the questions...

What makes us human...
What makes us unique...
And what makes us kill?

Ten years in the past, Stefan Korsak's more youthful brother used to be abducted. no longer an afternoon has handed that Stefan hasn't thought of him. As a emerging determine within the Russian mafia, he has ultimately came across him. but if he rescues Lukas, he needs to confront a bad truth-his brother isn't any longer his brother. he's a educated, genetically-altered killer. Now, those that created him will do whatever to reclaim him. And the nearer Stefan grows to his brother, the extra he realizes that saving Lukas might be more uncomplicated than surviving him...

Watch a Video

Show description